Reviews

What people are saying about River Hotel


We hope you enjoy our site as well as your stay at the River Hotel. We welcome your feedback and you can start your review by completing this simple form below. Before you start, here are what some of our most recent guests have to say.

Once you have filled in your rating and subject in the form below you will be directed to tripadvisor to log in and complete your review.

Enjoy the rest of the site, use the menu to the left to find your way around.



Summary
4.5

Lovely friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Relaxing stay as usual at this friendly hotel.

Reviewer: Martin L | Sun 3rd Mar 2024 | 13 hours ago


Clean, decent wifi, friendly and ok value for money - Rating 4/5

....

Reviewer: Ian| Sun 25th Feb 2024 | 1 week ago


Clean and comfortable stay - Rating 3/5

The River Hotel is ideally located in Oxford very near the main railway station and a short walk to the city centre of Oxford.The hotel itself is clean and functional. The staff are friendly and very helpfulThe rooms again are clean but aa bit cramped in the bathroom. Overall, the hotel is comfortable but a little old fashioned. Perhaps for some this is it's charm. Needs a modernisation to bring it up to standards of other hotels, in my opinion

Reviewer: Keith D | Sat 24th Feb 2024 | 1 week ago


a gem of a hotel - Rating 5/5

This hotel is a real gem.Right next to the river, a 4 minute walk from the train station, yet only a 15 minute walk from the middle of Oxford.A great breakfast, friendly staff, everything in my room I needed.The perfect place for a stranger - like me - to Oxford.

Reviewer: Wendy L | Sun 18th Feb 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Fantastic weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Absolutely perfect stay. All staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive. Full cooked breakfast was brilliant and had good veggie options. We would stay here again any time.

Reviewer: Lori P | Sun 18th Feb 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Lovely stay at this friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Stayed 3 nights with friends .. on arrival the person on reception (who’s name we unfortunately didn’t catch )was pleasant and helpful . Room was good , plenty of extra pillows available. Bit of a smallishbathroom for a family room . Complementary water was a nice touch .Great breakfasts each morning. Nice cosy bar area withanhonesty bar and a good selection of drinks .Phil the hotel manager was helpful , friendly and informative about things to do in the area andmade us feel very welcome in this family run hotel.. excellent customer service from everyone we met , lovely ladies serving breakfast . Recommend this small family run hotel , with free parking a real bonus too .

Reviewer: Jayne B | Wed 14th Feb 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was lovely with all you could require. The breakfast was delicious & the staff were brilliant & very friendly. I would totally recommend this hotel.

Reviewer: Helena| Mon 12th Feb 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Very clean Hotel and staff very friendly especially the man on reception.- Rating 4/5

Very handy if you are visiting Oxford for theatre shows only 15min walk from hotel.Carpark is great too no worries where to leave car. A cosy and clean but very dated hotel and i think £160 per night is a bit to much to pay...i did find a cheaper price when got home for £97 so if went again i would look for paying that.

Reviewer: Pauline| Mon 12th Feb 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Great Value in a lovely friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

We had the best few days in Oxford. The hotel was great value, ideally located and the staff could not do enough. We had tea/coffee facilities and were able to store our cases after we checked out until we caught our train. Would definitely go back and recommend.

Reviewer: Joanne| Mon 5th Feb 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Old fashioned but comfortable, very clean & lovely breakfast - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, good location.Old fashioned but adds to the character of the place.All very clean & all the facilties you need

Reviewer: Keely| Sun 4th Feb 2024 | 4 weeks ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Daily House Keeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Wake Up Call
  • Cots Available
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Located In City Centre
  • Bicycle Storage
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Parking On-site
  • Restaurant
  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan Options Available
  • Bar
  • Conference Facilities
  • Family Room Available
  • City Breaks
  • Close To City Centre