Reviews

What people are saying about River Hotel


We hope you enjoy our site as well as your stay at the River Hotel. We welcome your feedback and you can start your review by completing this simple form below. Before you start, here are what some of our most recent guests have to say.

Once you have filled in your rating and subject in the form below you will be directed to tripadvisor to log in and complete your review.

Enjoy the rest of the site, use the menu to the left to find your way around.



Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

My mother and I came for a second stay at the River Hotel, whilst visiting my daughter. the staff could not have been more friendly, or helpful. As always, the breakfast was excellent. Thank you.

Reviewer:BELWARD | Tue 5th Dec 2017


my stay - Rating 5/5

The location is unbeatable, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the English breakfast is unstinting - all for a very moderate price!

Reviewer:Mr Andrew Kinley | Wed 29th Nov 2017


River hotel - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant couple of days here, good location, staff helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:Elaine Gooch | Mon 27th Nov 2017


Excellent Clean Great Breakfast - Rating 5/5

We stayed in this hotel three nights and enjoyed our stay there. Very quite, clean, all shower facilities great, clean toielt, tea and cofee facitilies in roon, great breakfast very personal touch, friendly people, ten minutes from train station. We went to kur daughter graduation at University of Oxford very close in walking distance to every place. Next to besutiful river. We had good time.

Reviewer:Shahrad Tadayon | Sun 5th Nov 2017


River Hotel Experience - Rating 5/5

Excellent all round service. My grandson Sam who works in hotels was very pleased, especially with the breakfast. The situation and parking are a huge bonus to users of your establishment. Thanks for a lovely stay, kind regards Mr. G. W. R. Paton

Reviewer:PATON Graham Mr/ LEWIS Samuel (grandson) | Sat 4th Nov 2017


Highly recommended - Rating 4/5

I met a friend in Oxford and pppreciated the convenience of the nearness to the main station, which was in walking distance to the hotel.I found the hotel very clean and extremely friendly.Nothing was too much trouble for them.The only disadvantage for didabled people, there are quite a few stairs inside and out, with no lift.

Reviewer:Issacharoff Diane | Wed 25th Oct 2017


Very comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

I would recommend staying here, check in was easy and straightforward. Very helpful too as unable to stay for breakfast so provided a breakfast tray in room. The room was pleasant very clean. We had a night at the theatre so this hotel was only a 10 minute walk. Having stayed before 2 years ago we were happy to stay again. I would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning. Oh forgot the free parking.

Reviewer:Carol Taylor | Sat 21st Oct 2017


river hotel - Rating 4/5

we had room 2. a simple and comfortable room for 3 adults. looking onto the road, but quiet thanks to the secondary glazing. looks a little dated but the garden by the river was great and the breakfast delicious.

Reviewer:FREARSON Adam Mr | Wed 11th Oct 2017


our experience at River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Close to the railway station. Friendly and helpfull staff.Easy to walk to Oxford city.Next to the hotel You can start beautiful walks near the river Thames and Oxford Canal to Jericho(nice neighborhood)Rooms are clean and brings you back to the Inspector Morse years ...Breakfast on order is good:scrambled eggs, bacon, ...Best Marmite experience ever... Lovely hand-caught kippers! :)Kind regards

Reviewer:Buelens Ingrid | Wed 4th Oct 2017


River Hotel - Rating 3/5

Very convenient to city centre and the train station.The staff was very pleasant and accommodating.The room was adequate and clean, but somewhat outdated.

Reviewer:BURNETT Peter | Thu 28th Sep 2017


River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff were just lovely, extremely helpful and generous with information about the local area.Breakfast was very nice.Exterior photos very true to reality.Location is excellent, you can and I suggest you do - walk everywhere as currently there is road works blocking most the city. Although parking is available onsite which is a huge plus. The rooms are very simple, basic but clean and relatively quiet.

Reviewer:CRAWLEY Joanne | Mon 25th Sep 2017


River Hotel Stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay yet again. Great service, room clean and tidy, comfortable bed providing a good nights sleep and breakfast very tasty. Well situated for travel.

Reviewer:Cptn Mark SMITH | Mon 25th Sep 2017


Mother & daughter one night in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Sadly only one night spent here, it was a great place to stay, very close to the train station and by the river, only a short walk into centre of Oxford. Room comfortable and clean. Staff couldn\'t have been more helpful at breakfast, even providing vegetarian option for my daughter and cooked breakfasts presented beautifully. They even let us leave our bags until we went for our train, so we didn\'t need to carry them around the shops.

Reviewer:HALL Amy&JUlie | Sat 2nd Sep 2017


4 nights in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Great location, ideal to leave the car. Fifteen minutes walk into centre. Accomodation comfortable but a bit tired, plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Five minutes walk to The Punter traditional pub with good food.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Christopher | Wed 23rd Aug 2017


Highly recommend the River Hotel - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely 4-day stay . Comfortable and clean rooms, friendly and accomadating staff and excellent breakfasts.Our early (by 3 of us) and very late (by our 4th) arrivals, the need to have a large package of camping equipment received and then picked up days after our departure as well as our need to use the left luggage room for a few days after check out were all handeled with smiles and efficiency by the staffEasy access to train/bus and city center but quiet riverside garden and lovelywalks. In a lovely part of town. Excellent \'heritage pub\'only a few minutes walk away. The hotel is a little more worn then many Americans are used to but all of our party enjoyed it and would highly recommend.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your whole time in Oxford.We hope the festival was a perfect end to your trip to the UK and welcome you next time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn Piotti | Wed 16th Aug 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable hotel with polite, very helpful staff and within easy walking distance of the city centre attractions.

Reviewer:CRANSTON David & Mrs. | Fri 11th Aug 2017


Pleasant hotel- Rating 3/5

A very nice welcome, and pleasant and helpful staff.Good breakfast and OK room. Would benefit with some new wallpaper.

Reviewer:Martin Pearson | Fri 11th Aug 2017


Great location - Rating 5/5

Walking distance from train station and town. We used the hotel as our base to explore the Cotswold area. We also enjoyed walking on the trail along the river right outside the hotel. Great hot breakfast and friendly staff. And shower was great.

Reviewer:Jaehyea Wiedeman | Sun 6th Aug 2017


Good location, helpful staff - Rating 4/5

As described- very close to station and town centre and staff are very helpful. Breakfast was fast and plentiful, there is luggage storage and we were able to leave the car there the next day.Decor is a little worn, but it\'s clean and showers are strong.

Reviewer:Janet Walker | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Great location- Rating 4/5

Basic accommodation in a very handy location. The staff were friendly and more than made up for the barebones facilities. Breakfast was included in our price.

Reviewer:Dr. Julie Tsung | Thu 27th Jul 2017


Great - Rating 5/5

We normally only stay at chain hotels. Not knowing what to expect our stay at River Hotel was a pleasant surprise.From check in to check out we were made very welcome. The room was comfy and relaxing.Breakfast was just right too!I would highly recommend the River Hotel for anyone visiting Oxford.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Sweeney | Wed 26th Jul 2017


Overnight, July 22 - Rating 3/5

The room was quite satisfactory for an overnight stay.Reasonably priced, clean, and close to the train station and downtown.Breakfast was good and appreciated.Staff was friendly and helpful.We appreciated having the luggage storage area available to us after we checked out.

Reviewer:Mrs. Robin Kocher | Wed 26th Jul 2017


River Hotel Oxford - Rating 5/5

A nice, clean hotel. Great place to stay

Reviewer:MAFANYA Olwethu | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Perfect location- Rating 5/5

Thank you River Hotel, yours is a superb location for enjoying Oxford, really appreciate the free car park and safe, secure, quaint, comfortable lodging, excellent service and delicious breakfast, I will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Lynn Foley | Mon 19th Jun 2017


End of section 4 Thames Path - Rating 3/5

Although only a two star hotel we found the accommodation adequate. Not used to sleeping with tightly tucked in blankets though. More used to duvets.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Edlin | Tue 13th Jun 2017


Very Recommendable - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasent stay for one night, happy about a bathtub, good beds, a substential breakfast and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Georg Siemens | Mon 12th Jun 2017


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I\'d initially booked 2 nights at the nearby YHA but due to the noise levels, needed to move elsewhere.Luckily the River Hotel had vacancies and proved to be a quiet location, with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast - and very reasonably priced too!Should I visit Oxford again, I\'d book here straight away!

Response

Thank you for your kind review and we welcome you back to the River Hotel on your next visit to Oxford.

Reviewer:Andrea McNeill | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Great service- Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the rooms are a bit dated, they are clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was superb, even the chef came out to check we were happy with everything! Service was faultless. Would stay again .

Reviewer:ROACH Joanne | Mon 29th May 2017


Pleasant and friendly- Rating 3/5

We spent 3 nights at the River Hotel in Oxford.We were able to check in at 11 AM.The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is in a very convenient location, an easy walk from the station and right on the River Thames. It is not inexpensive, but the price is all inclusive:free parking, wifi, and a very good breakfast in a pretty room with fresh flowers on the tables. I think it is very good value given the location. We had no issues with traffic noise in our 3 floor front room. We found the staff to be friendly, cheerful and helpful. Be aware that there are a lot of stairs and no lifts so people with limited mobility might be better looking elsewhere.

Reviewer:Mr. Daniel Kearney | Sat 27th May 2017


River Hotel - Rating 4/5

Perfect for one night stay as close to Oxford attractions. Although hotel dated was very clean, friendly staff and good breakfast cooked to order.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon MacDonald | Fri 26th May 2017


Basics covered - Rating 3/5

Great location, lovely people running/working at hotel and provided the basics. Hotel in serious need of some improvements and updating, especially beds.

Reviewer:Ms. Patricia| Thu 25th May 2017


well located hotel - Rating 4/5

The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of parking space which is a real bonus in Oxford. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked. Downsides;poor reception on the TV only 3 channels coming through, pillows very flat. Rooms were clean.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary BUCKLEY | Wed 24th May 2017


Friendly and helpful hotel. - Rating 4/5

We have stayed here many times and have always found the service friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are very good with plenty of choice. It perhaps needs updating, but, on the plus side, it is also very convenient for walking into Oxford.

Reviewer:Mrs. G. R. Paterson-Taylor | Wed 17th May 2017


A week-end break in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Service was excellent.We received a friendly, informative reception and the breakfast was exceptional for a 2 star hotel. It is located a short walk from the station, or if travelling by car there is parking at the hotel. It is within easy walking distance to the center of Oxford and I would recommend the River Hotel as a good, affordable base to explore the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nova Dobb | Tue 9th May 2017


Accom at River Hotel Oxford - Rating 3/5

Excellent location very close to railway station and short walk to town. Quiet. Basic but comfortable accommodation. Staff friendly and helpful. Freshly cooked breakfast great (rather than something that\'s been sitting in a bain-marie.

Reviewer:Ms. Elaine Atkinson | Mon 8th May 2017


Great location. Friendly staff - Rating 4/5

This hotel is ideally situated for arriving by public transport. It is an easy walk into Oxford city centre &has great river walks immediately outside the hotel. The staff are friendly, welcoming &knowledgeable about the area. Rooms are small but clean &well equipped. Good selection for breakfast. I imagine it may be a little noisy when hotel is full but this is a small price to pay for such a convenient location. Good value for a city centre hotel. I will be staying here again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Clark | Wed 26th Apr 2017


Wonderful Stay - Rating 4/5

My sister and I spent two nights at the River Hotel, and it was lovely! The staff is very inviting and accommodating-- even preparing vegan food for our breakfast upon request-- and the hotel is very well kept and clean. It is in a great location, right next to the train station, and either a short walk/drive to town on the main street or a longer, picturesque walk along the river.Very simple and quaint, I highly recommend!

Reviewer:Miss. Hannah Salamon | Mon 17th Apr 2017


My special place in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Every year I come to Oxford for a conference and since I found the River Hotel, it has become my home there! Wonderfully nice and accommodating team, simple but comfortable rooms, easy access and an excellent breakfast... everything I need to be able to fully enjoy the conference!!

Reviewer:Mr. S├ębastian MAROT | Fri 7th Apr 2017


Highly recommend - Rating 4/5

Great location, friendly staff, would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie SHARP | Sat 1st Apr 2017


Convenient, friendly - will visit again ! - Rating 5/5

My mother &I attended a family reunion in Oxford and were delighted with the location of the River Hotel (walked to everywhere from there), and with the bright, spacious room, hospitality &selection available at breakfast. Will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda SUTTON | Tue 28th Mar 2017


River Hotel in Oxford - Rating 4/5

The River Hotel in Oxford was conveniently located to the Oxford train station which was important to us as we were walking with our bags from the train station.The room was comfortable and the service was great in that we were able to leave our bags in a locked room while we visited Blenhiem Palace for the day.

Reviewer:Ms. Phyllis Hockett | Tue 28th Mar 2017


River Hotel - friendly and convenient - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. It is placed so conveniently to walk into Oxford, we did not use our car at all. The staff were wonderfully friendly and were happy to help with all our enquiries. The cooked breakfast was very good and toast and drinks replenished when needed. We did not feel rushed at any time.The owners are making efforts to bring this hotel up to date but the decor in our room was tired, however all was kept clean and tidy for us. My only advise to River Hotel is either replace or take down the blinds at the front, they don\'t give a very good impression.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian Thomson | Sun 19th Mar 2017


Great location - Rating 5/5

Gret location, friendly staff and cozy rooms. Would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert GILL | Thu 16th Mar 2017


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy staff exceptional great breakfast well cooked all you can eat we stayed for 3 nights and very happy close to Thames path and train station this is the second time we have stayed here come and try it yourself.

Response

Thanks

Reviewer:Peter | Tue 17th Jan 2017


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • City Breaks